OSCAR HARRIS AND THE TWINKLE STARS, Whole lot of dances, 1966

Just a short post this week because I was occupied with a new blog I`ve been doing. It`s a little esoteric in nature but so is this blog, so if you are a bit open minded you might want to check out Berlin DIY HC Punk.

On to the music. When I bought this record I didn`t know what it was and when I listened to it at home the Twinkle Stars` kind of soul music sounded really cool but still made me curious. This was not the usual “Northern-Soul” sound.

After a little investigation it turns out Oscar Harris is from Suriname, South America. Oscar Harris was born in Suriname in 1943 and came to Holland when he was 20 years old. He had a long career in Holland and still performs today.

Either way, some nice soul music from Holland via Suriname from Oscar Harris and the Twinkle Stars!

OSCAR HARRIS AND THE TWINKLE STARS, Whole lot of dances, 1966

OSCAR HARRIS AND THE TWINKLE STARS, I`ve got witnesses, 1966

3 Comments on “OSCAR HARRIS AND THE TWINKLE STARS, Whole lot of dances, 1966”

  1. yon maulana says:

    The song that I love very much is A Song for the children. Actually bought a cassette of this song, just because I played it again and again so it is broken now. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to get the same one. Please help me find it. And I would be very glad if I could find the karaoke version so that I can sing along with the original music.

  2. mischalke04 says:

    I am sorry, but I do not know that song. The only record I have is the one I posted. Keep searching and I am sure you will find it.
    Then again, what is one song in the sea of the millions of songs?

  3. Here is your song
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Oscar+Harris+-+Song+For+The+Children+KARAOKE&oq=Oscar+Harris+-+Song+For+The+Children+KARAOKE&gs_l=youtube.12…1042234.1046734.0.1048139.9.9.0.0.0.0.386.1579.0j8j0j1.9.0…0.0…1ac.1.11.youtube.tTnREWkMqtQ

    If you need any help pls contact me
    thusitha.thanthirige@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 477 other followers