EDDIE JOHNSON, Zumma-Zumma-Zumbassa!,1966

zumma-front-21zumma-backzumma-labelMy girlfriend is the first and most important person that I ask  if I am in doubt about anything. I trust her judgement. She is critical but also very open minded. If I would have shown her this record she would`ve  probably shrugged her shoulders and said:”Terrible.” And she would be right. This record is terrible.  But so is “Sex and the City”…

zumma-detail

Eddie Johnson and his producers tried to coat-tail on the success of “Mr.Cannibal” that I posted last week, throwing in the same ingredients: Mau-Maus, cannibals and a mix of German and English lyrics. And it`s  even more racist. But the music is better, Calypso-Beat or is this Ska?  Strangely I couldn`t find out anything about Eddie Johnson at all.eddie-johnson

However the artist that did the cover is Will Halle. Not the best Berlin cartoonist and not my favorite one but he had that typical simple and effective style that was popular in the 40`s, 50`s and early 60`s. Like his collegues Stenzel and Kossatz, Will Halle was a popular Berlin cartoonist and still is with a older generation of Berliners.

These guys were popular before the internet so I could only find out a few things there: Will Halle`s real name was Erich Will. He was from the town of Halle so he called himself Will Halle. He was born 1905 and either died in 1969 or 1980.

eule

I have been collecting cartoon books for a long time and started to particularly look for Berlin cartoonists since I moved here 11 years ago.

Generally I don`t buy books that were published in Nazi Germany. Anybody who was published during that time was a collaborator. They were published in spite of all the other ( mostly more talented )  people that were persecuted, forced to leave the country or killed. It´s a contaminated time and I don`t want to have books around that carry that spirit.

A while back I had a discussion with fellow Berlin cartoonists who felt that in the case of Olaf Gulbransson, who was published in Nazi Germany, he was innocent because he wasn`t a political person. I disagreed because I think in a dictatorship there is no room for that. You are either a threat or you comply.

I found this book by Will Halle from 1940das-finde-ich-komisch in a thrift store for only 2 euros so I picked it up. It has a introduction by Heinz Rühmann, probably the most popular German actor ever. His career spun from the 30`s and 40`s to the 80`s.

The book is called “Das finde ich komisch- Ein Bilderbuch für Erwachsene” ( That`s what I think is funny- A picture book for adults ).

wunder-des-alkohols

The miracle of alcohol

“Where is the wolf? I want to tear him apart!”

spielerei

“Playing around”professor

The short-sighted man

“Excuse me, Professor- I`m the Model!”lebemann

The modest rake

” You wouldn`t believe what you can imagine behind there!”

It is not a political book and the humour is not Nazi humour. There are no antisemitic drawings in that book. But some Nazis must`ve laughed about these cartoons. It was published by Nazis in Nazi Germany. Maybe that makes it Nazi Humour?

So I still have a bad feeling about this book that was published when Germany`s brightest people were forced to be silent and thousands went into concentration camps and this guy didn`t think it was wrong to get the Nazi stamp of approval for his funny pictures.

But that goes for a number of Berlin cartoonists like Hans Joachim Stenzel, Hans Kossatz , Ferdinand  Barlog and Horst von Möllendorf. They  were respected and loved by a wide audience before and after the war.

But whatever, it`s only a simple cartoon sleeve of a silly German 45 from 1966…

EDDIE JOHNSON, Zumma-Zumma-Zumbassa!,1966

EDDIE JOHNSON, Charly, Bring Me A Beer,1966

6 Comments on “EDDIE JOHNSON, Zumma-Zumma-Zumbassa!,1966”

  1. Shelly says:

    I have this Das Finde ich Komisch by Will Halle in dryer, less good condition that what you show on line. I am trying to sell it because I have no use for it. It is dry and brittle but all the pictures are brilliant. ANy thoughts on who might be interested? Thanks, Shelly

  2. Steven Burstein says:

    I probably don’t have to ask you what you think of Nazi era films being shown on German TV and in revival houses(Especially “Feuerzangenbowle”).It’s interesting than in Nazi Germany one could show nude women when you couldn’t show them in America.

  3. Hello,
    I’ve discovered a propaganda postcard by Will Halle that was published in 1942 and warns of the dangers of not supporting the Wehrmacht’s effort in the east. It shows what will happen if Nazi-Germany loses the war and the Soviets win. Therefore, the artist did create images supporting Hitler’s regime.

  4. mischalke04 says:

    Dear James,

    I´m not surprised. It would be interesting to see it. Where did you discover it?

    Greetings from Berlin
    Andreas

  5. I’m a propaganda postcard collector and aquired the item about 10-years ago. During the war the Germans were trying to gain greater support for the campaign in the east and a postcard appears to have been developed bearing the theme that western Europeans would be negitvely effected if the Bolshevks won. I just finished reading an article dealing with Vichy propaganda and remembered the postcard in my collection with this theme. The artists name on the card lead me to the article and then the posting. I believe the card (in Flemish and French language)was designed for a Belgian audience, but there must have been several versions of it made. If you like, I’ll scan the card and send it as an attachment. Please give me your e-mail address.
    James (jlees@hotmail.com)

  6. mischalke04 says:

    That sounds very thrilling! I´d be really happy to see it! Today there is still a lot of research done on German Comics history but the cartoonists who were not doing straight comics are mostly ignored. That goes double for the part that they played in Nazi-Germany. A lot of cartoonists like Ferdinand Barlog and Will Halle were working successfully from the 30s to the 50s. The one cartoonist that influenced those two the most, was Berlin cartoonist Paul Simmel. He committed suicide in 1933.

    If you would scan the postcard I´d like to post it alongside a new Will Halle post. If possible, please make a high-resolution scan.

    Thanks a lot1
    Andreas (monobrutal@hotmail.com)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers