BATTERIES NOT INCLUDED, Poughkeepsie-City Of Sin, 1980

While I´m at it, here´s another record I got in Brattleboro. Chris gave me a bunch of records and this was one of them. This  record fits right along a couple of Berlin records that I posted here before: not punk, not new wave, not hard rock but a little bit of everything.  I love it!

This is what wikipedia has to say about Poughkeepsie:

The name derives from a  Native American word (roughly U-puku-ipi-sing), meaning “the reed covered lodge by the little-water place,” referring to a spring or stream feeding into the Hudson River, south of the present downtown area. Poughkeepsie is known as “The Queen City of the Hudson.” During the late 1980s through the late 1990s, Poughkeepsie suffered from severe socioeconomic turmoil, serving as a symbol for urban decay in the Hudson Valley.

This is a great ode to a declining small town and a great, silly novelty rock´n´roll song!

Again many thanks for this, Chris!

BATTERIES NOT INCLUDED, Poughkeepsie-City Of Sin, 1980

BATTERIES NOT INCLUDED, Anita Bryant, 1980

11 Comments on “BATTERIES NOT INCLUDED, Poughkeepsie-City Of Sin, 1980”

  1. Jeff says:

    Hey! these links aren’t working anymore. I’m from PK, and would LOVE a copy of these songs. Any chance you could email them to me? Thanks!

  2. mischalke04 says:

    Dear Jeff,

    How is Poughkeepsie today? I´ve never been there.
    I´ll send you the songs and I will fix the links.

    Greetings from Berlin
    Andreas

  3. Francis says:

    Well, this totally explains the “Poughkeepsie – City of Sin” bumper sticker that I have in my possession without really having any idea where it came from. Can I also request a reupload of the songs? I can’t get the link to work either.

  4. mischalke04 says:

    Thanks for caring. I´ll upload it tonight.

  5. Francis says:

    Fabulous — thanks!

  6. DaveL says:

    Thanks for sharing. Been looking for this song for awhile. I’m from Poughkeepsie and remember it well.

  7. M says:

    This band eventually turned into the long-running band Life in a Blender, still cranking stuff out to this day, and still incuding the 2 writers of this song.

    http://www.lifeinablender.net

    (I’m the bassist).

  8. V. Powell says:

    In spite of the most dramatic economic downturn since the Great Depression Poughkeepsie is making a comeback. Stop standing on that corner and look around you. This is a great place raise children, good music venue, cultural arts, educational (Marist, Vassar, Bard, Dutchess Community Colleges), historical sites, and sports. The Valley is the center for enviromental hikers, fisherpersons, birders, etc. Get off the corner and stop inviting SIN in take a stroll over The Walkway Over the Hudson.

  9. Brian Dobbie says:

    Hi, I’m the sax player on this old recording (I was a freshman in college) Thanks for digitizing this old song from a bunch of fresh out of high school kids. We actually used to take the train down to NYC and play this song on Amateur Nights at Catch A Rising Star and the Comedy Club.
    Please email a copy if it’s not too much trouble.
    Brian Dobbie, Wells Hollow Band

  10. Don Rauf says:

    Brian Dobbie–If you see this post, drop me a line at don@lifeinablender.net.
    didn’t you change into a parrot?—Don

  11. This song was just too funny.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 492 other followers