Brattleboro, Vermont

downtown-brattleboroBrattleboro is a real cool small town where I felt at home right away. Its two main streets have nice cafés, thrift-shops, book-stores, a art-supply store and two really cool record-stores. Lisa and Chris produce Bingo Granola, great tasting organic granola that they sell at the Brattleboro Farmers Market. We spent almost 2 weeks in Brattleboro and really enjoyed our stay.brattleboro

Chris was one of the founders of WVEW 107.7, Brattleboro community radio and does a Thursday morning show, the Moose Haas show together with John Singer. John also plays in the Zip  Code Rapists.  On August 6, 2009 I was invited to be the guest on the show. From 8 to 9:30 am I played some of my favourite records that I have posted here over the past 2 years.


The show was a lot of fun and Chris recorded the whole thing so I hope I will be able to post the show here in the future. Thanks a lot Chris!chrisandy

I bought a whole bunch of LP´s for 25 Cents each at Experienced Goods, a thrift-store that serves as a fund-raiser for the Brattleboro Hospice, and a lot of 45´s at Turn It Up Records, mostly  between 50 cents or a dollar. I finally found a copy of the MAD “Twists” Rock´n´Roll LP there. in-the-moment-records

But my favourite store was In The Moment Records. I bought a whole lot of fine Rock´n´Roll 45´s there and also some weird stuff that I will probably post in the future.inside-in-the-moment

This one I´ll post right away because it is a advertisement record, a Twist record and it even came with a sleeve. Just the kind I like the best!

4 Comments on “Brattleboro, Vermont”

  1. Troy McClure says:

    I can’t believe it that you were actually in my radio booth!
    Now you must tune in from our website: http://www.wvew.org to hear my show on Wednesday nights, 8 PM EST (2 AM Berlin time?). The show is “Peel Slowly & See”.
    This week 260809 I am featuring the song “Malagueña”. Usually I play old rock ‘n roll, obscurities, exotica, lots of instrumentals. I am sorry that I didn’t run into you while you were visiting my town.

    –Troy McClure

  2. mischalke04 says:

    Too bad we didn´t meet! We seem to have a pretty similar taste in Music. I love Brattleboro! You´re really fortunate to live in such a nice town that has it all: hot summers, cold winters, record stores, mocca joes, teenage gangsters and granola.

    Thanks for your earlier comment on ORLIE AND THE SAINTS “Detroit Twist and Freeze Twist”. I grew up in Hamburg and if asked: Stones or Beatles, I would always say: Beatles! They were real Rockers in Hamburg.

    We will return to Brattleboro, hopefully next year.
    First I´ll listen to your show tonight.

  3. Gwendolin says:

    ha!
    i bought one of my favorite records of all times in this shop!
    the Byrds: Sweetheart of the Rodeo

    viele grüsse!

  4. lisa says:

    Brattleboro does seems to be BRIMMING with potential. Thanks for letting us see it through your fresh perspective. Come back soon!
    Lisa (of Chris and LIsa/Bingo)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 477 other followers