Voodoo Voodoo

This is actually a whole page that I did two years ago. It ran in the comic magazine Mamba, a supplement of  Jungle World, the weekly paper that has been  publishing my Bigbeatland comic-strip  for the last eight years, and in OX magazine. The English version of the comic I did today. Die deutsche Version dieses Comics findest du hier.

Werner Voss has been doing his “Rock´n´Roll Museum” radio show  since 1974 and he´s still on the air every first Saturday of the month on NDR 4! I haven´t listened to his show in many years but now I think I need to catch-up with it sometime soon.

This is the German Atlantic 45 that was probably re-released in the mid-60´s,  combining two of  LaVern Baker´s greatest rockers: Voodoo Voodoo from 1958 and  Hey Memphis from 1961. Because it was on Atlantic it´s not a very rare record here in Germany, but it is one that I reeeally like. And yeah, I´need two of them.

7 Comments on “Voodoo Voodoo”

  1. cole says:

    I had a similar experience except in my case I was hunting for the reggae single “You’re no good” by the Eternals. I heard it once on the radio in 1980 and I searched for 20 years for that single!! I finally found it around 2000 on an auction list. I offered a huge bid and won the record for a ridiculous amount but I finally had it. Then two years later they reissued it. I bought the reissue for a few dollars. Nice pressing too. But hey, now I have two copies. :-)

  2. Hunter King says:

    Aww I hate it when you find out that one of your favorite songs was a cover. Luckily, I think the Flat Duo Jets do it uniquely enough that these can both be excellent in my book.

    Cool post!

  3. Troy McClure says:

    I had a favorite show when I lived in Sweden many years ago, in the early 1980′s. The show was only on once a week on Sveriges Radio, but it was FANTASTIC: “Bip Bop Boom” med Svante Grundberg. The show started and ended each time with the song “Bip Bop Boom” by Mickey Hawks & The Night Raiders. I would stop pretty much whatever I was doing: studying, visiting friends on my student korridor, sexual trists with svensk flickorna, etc.— to hear this show. It was like a beacon and I recorded some portions of the shows which I still have. When you have a radio disc jockey who REALLY knows about music, you want to keep tuning in. I first heard Elvis’ Sun Sessions on a Washington, D.C. station also that was really good, where the jockey talked about rockabilly and about early rock ‘n roll—back in 1974 when I was a 14 year old. I taped one of his shows too and still have it on cassette, an early tape recording from my childhood. When I first heard the song “Baby Let’s Play House” I was ecstatic! It sounded so different from everything—even better than T. Rex!

    I will try to tune in to NDR 4. Thanks for the link.

  4. Bhob says:

    You voodooed me with that terrific drawing of La Vern Baker!

  5. Clutterbuk says:

    Oh, what a sad/hilarious story. I’m sure we all have similar experiences…

    (Occasionally I do the same kind of thing with something it turns out that I already own.)

    And at least you got a really great cartoon out of the experience.

    Really enjoyed reading this. Thanks! Keep up the good work.

  6. DavidM says:

    Hey, i need one of this 45′s, are you interested to sell one of yours?
    Thanks.
    David.

  7. mischalke04 says:

    No.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 491 other followers