TOP SIX, No.18, 1965

Last week I also purchased this British cheapo/department store EP at the charity shop.  When I bought it, it didn´t have a sleeve. Luckily,  later when we played our new acquisitions, the missing Top Six company sleeve was on one of the 45´s that my friend had  bought at the same place.  Generously he let me have.

There are six cover-versions of 1965 British hit songs played by unnamed bands on this EP: “The Price Of Love” by the Everly Brothers, “I´s Just A Little Bit Too Late” by Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders, “Colours” by Donovan, “I`m Alive” by The Hollies, “She´s About A Mover” by The Sir Douglas Quintet and “Crying In The Chapel”, that Elvis took to number one on the British charts in 1965 where it stayed for two weeks.

The Price Of Love

I´s Just A Little Bit Too Late

Colours

I`m Alive

She´s About A Mover

Crying In The Chapel

3 Comments on “TOP SIX, No.18, 1965”

  1. masked marauder says:

    Looking at these titles… a tiny bell rang in the attic of my twisted brain, and yo, bingo. I’ve got a cheapo V. A. 4-track UK-EP from ’65 on the Embassy-label from a series called The Big Four. (These things were pressed to be sold at Woolworth’s, I’ve been told.) 3 of the 6 song are on this as well, and the versions are identical. “Price Of Love” is by Terry Brandon with The Beatmen, “Colours” by Les Carle with The Beatmen and “I’m Alive” by The Typhoons. I wonder why they omitted the best track from this record, a killer version of the Kinks’ “Set Me Free” done by Alvin Lee’s first recording band The Jaybirds.

  2. mischalke04 says:

    Great info. Somebody should write a book about all the European cheapo labels of the 60´s and the material they traded with each other. I would buy it!

  3. Jim says:

    There is a chapter on the cheapo Top Six label in my forthcoming book, The Beatle Who Vanished. This is the story of Jimmy Nicol the drummer who subbed for Ringo Starr. Before Starr, he played drums on all the Top Six cover songs in early 1964. The book also includes a Top Six discography FYI. To get an email when the book comes out, please see my book site at: http://www.thebeatlewhovanished.com Jim B.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers