SVEN GOLDEN BAND, Barhocker-Bounce, 1961

“What are you doing, hacking away on that keyboard?”, my girlfriend asked irritated while I was writing this. “You´re not doing your blog again, are you?” My girlfriend always thought my blogging was just a huge waste of time. And she is right. Today it took me a couple of hours to do this little post, because I forgot how all the features work. Ridiculous how long it took. It was one of the reasons why I stopped blogging almost a year ago. I was addicted to “putting stuff from the real world into the digital world”, or at least that´s how I used to justify my activity, but then I never really had any use for the digital myself. I still don´t listen to MP3s, I don´t own CDs and I don´t buy anything on the Internet. Especially not on Ebay. I like buying real records and if I ever had a message behind this blog, it was to encourage people to go out and buy records. It´s easy. I do it every week. Another reason for my absence was that my computer collapsed. Luckily a friend gave me his old one but it is really loud and slow and most of the keys on the keyboard don´t work properly so it takes twice as long to write. It´s just not fun doing a music blog like this.

The biggest reason for my hiatus was that my girlfriend and me started swing dancing, a very worldly activity and a very social one. I met a lot of nice people in the swing scene but the best thing of it is, that of all the other musical sub-cultures that I was involved in since the early eighties, the swing dancing scene is the only one dominated by women. I love it and sure felt more like spending my spare time with my girlfriend and her friends, instead of the computer.

Swing dancing also opened up a huge new field of music for me. For the past year I´ve been buying quite a few jazz records and also found some pretty odd 45s that have never been re-released.

Like this advertisement record for Übersee-Kaffee. Christina Burg also did “Übersee-Kaffe-Rumba” and I have another one of her 45s on the Souvenir label: “Ich freu mich immer so, wenn Ferien sind”. In “Mister Millers Milchbar” Christina sings abut milk instead of coffee. “Barhocker-Bounce” (bar stool bounce) is 1950s big-band swing but listen to the bottle pop and the glasses klank…

SVEN GOLDEN BAND, Barhocker-Bounce, 1961

CHRISTINA BURG, Mister Milers Milchbar, 1961

17 Comments on “SVEN GOLDEN BAND, Barhocker-Bounce, 1961”

  1. KLinNYC says:

    I’m in New York City — There are only two second-hand record stores left, and the remaining thrift shops (if they carry records) no longer have thrifty prices or interesting selections.
    So, now I do my record hunting through blogs like yours — what you’re doing is not useless or unappreciated.

    I eventually learned to deal with mp3s and taught myself how to transfer vinyl to digital, clean up the sound file, and edit. My cheap $20 non-iPod has decent sound and is easy to carry around to block out the idiots on cell phones (very useful).

    I got into the Lindy & Jitterbug during the 50s revival in the 1970s. Lots of fun. Now I only like to dance when I’m holding onto someone else.
    Please don’t give up on the twist records, though.

    BTW, those picture covers are priceless. The logo on the record label is neat, too.

  2. Vova says:

    Hallo Andreas! Wow, you’ve just broke almost a year of a silence! What a nice sunday surprise! That’s great! Will check the music later. Hope you are doing all good. All the best to you. Vova

  3. mischalke04 says:

    Thanks! It feels good to be appreciated. I will try to keep blogging regularly. And post more twist records….

  4. mischalke04 says:

    Hey Vova,
    I know it was too long, but I´m fine and will try to post regularly.
    Best wishes
    Andreas

  5. Hello Andreas,
    nice to see and hear you again! I am in Burnaby, BC, Canada and for me it is always nice to find some of these OLDIES. Some of them seem to be forgotten for many of us. It sure must be great to find these JEWELS in the “Troedellaeden” you have access to.
    All the best
    Heinz

  6. Franky Fuzz says:

    Michalke is back.
    Coffee with unknown funny music plus stories again. Thank you.
    Having an archive of rare forgotten stuff from the past is the most sustainable thing a blog can offer. It is like an ongoing lesson in music-history – in a library that noone else has access to. You gave us the key to a most unique treasure chest. And besides the music you always add a little story – not only concerning the records but also how you found them and how you develop a new affectation and expand your interests. From here on, your readers can decide what to do with it. Just listening to the posted music, trying to find records themselves or just trying to keep their eyes open in the real world – for cheap stuff, hidden beauties, and most of all for new ideas, new preferences, new paths to walk on – like you did with your swing dance. I’m shedding a tear right now.
    I can imagine that it takes a lot of time to do this blog, but people want to read it. And they seem to come from all over the world. And that is something. Waste of time is something else.

    Yours Frank

  7. mischalke04 says:

    Thank you very much Franky.
    I´m really quite speechless.
    There´s no way I can stop blogging again now…

  8. TBear says:

    Was eine schöne Überraschung für alle, die nach unbekannten Perlen aus den 50er und 60er lechzen und seit Ostern letzten Jahres nur noch ein Standbild mit rosa Rauschen vernahmen. Gruß an die Freundin, sie hat definitiv unrecht. Dieser Blog ist keinesweg vertane Zeit, sondern große Freude für viele Fans.
    Und wenn wir schon dabei sind: Übersee-Kaffee-Rumba und das andere Lied von Christina Burg wären echte Schätzchen hier, da nirgendwo anders zu hören. Bin schon sehr gespannt!

  9. lolly pope says:

    na also, geht doch… let’s do the resurrection shuffle 04. good to have you back!

  10. ëRiC says:

    YEA! Mischalke04 Go!
    I almost lost hope here will be another post again :D
    Andreas, I just figured that you did a comment on the back of Mawils “Wir können ja Freunde bleiben”!!!
    I got the book before I got to know you and just read it again ( well .. yea because of that special condition :,\ )

    Oh Yes the titles are already priceless! But I cannot hear the mp3s! Neither the flash-players nor the download links work here. Ah I got it! Its just because of my location. Dropbox is blocked here… darn.

  11. mischalke04 says:

    Hallo Eric,

    versteh ich das richtig, du sitzt in Berlin und kannst Dropbox nicht benutzen?
    Das wäre ja voll doof. Woran liegt das? Kann ich da was machen?

    Gruß
    Andreas

  12. Torsten says:

    Schön, daß Du wieder postet. Freue mich auf viele weitere Perlen!

  13. mischalke04 says:

    Perlen? Hier gibt´s nur Platten…

  14. ëRiC says:

    He Andreas! Nee ich bin in Frankfurt.. (auf der Arbeit is dropbox gesperrt) naja .. woanders aus bei dropbox hochladen? ;] nee keine Umstände! Hör ichs mir halt zu Hause an.

  15. John says:

    Andreas, count me as another fan who’s very happy to see you posting again! I recently found a very obscure 45 by Christian Schafrik called Wir Verstehn Uns So Wunderbar that’s fantastic — the band is now covering it.

    Viele Grüße aus Chicago!

  16. Martin says:

    Thanks for being back!

  17. Martin says:

    Welcome back :) and for the latest posts, love your finds.

    Good luck with the swing dancing .. I have been dancing lindy hop for four years.. great fun.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers