MARGIE, Ich such den Playboy

As you probably know by now I really like odd records. I hate alphabetically organized record stores because I`m never looking for anything special in a store. I`m looking for records I don`t know yet by artists I`ve never heard of. Luckily most store-owners put the records they can`t categorize and don`t think they can sell in the 50 cents bins and that`s where I go first. I`m driven by curiosity rather than the “love of the music”. The notion that all “good” music is made by established artists is bullshit. Professional artists have to crank out record after record until every bit of inspiration is drenched out of them. Some of the most interesting music is made by amateurs who make a record or two and then get on with their lives.

I don`t want this to sound too harsh. I do love all kinds of music including a lot of “hits” from every decade. And instead of complaining I should be grateful that my area of interest is not so crowded yet.

This record is a good example of how important a sleeve is to selling a record. The really bad drawing on the sleeve kept music fans from buying it to this day.  It was what attracted me but still the low quality of the sleeve  is in big contrast to the full sound on the record. The music could have been anything from pop, traditional to comedy.

Again nothing on Margie on the Internet but the Ernst Kugler Orchestra was pretty well known in Austria in the 60s and 70s. They do a great job in accompanying Margie on these two pop songs circa 1970/71. “Ich such den Playboy” ( I`m looking for the playboy ) is a song about a woman looking for a man (a playboy) to support her. Not exactly a notion that was very much in tune with the progressive atmoshere at that time.

MARGIE, Ich such den Playboy

MARGIE, Aber dann…


Leave a Reply

