MALLORCA!

The weeks  have passed and I haven`t gotten around to write about my trip to Mallorca together with the staff of JUNGLE WORLD. Last Thursday the issue came out, that we all worked on while on the island and it turned out great. If you can read German I recommend you to get it.

JUNGLE WORLD is a weekly newspaper that is sold on newsstands across Germany, Austria, Switzerland and for the first time at selected places in Mallorca. Every year the staff goes to another country to produce a paper. Three years ago I went with them to Istanbul the first time.

This time we spent 12 days at a finca in Buger, a small village in the middle in the middle of the island. I had a great time but there were some stressful moments for everyone. Being with a group in one house most of the time it felt like taking part in the TV show BIG BROTHER sometimes. But I enjoyed even that because of it was a real challenge. In my real life I stay at home all the time like the typical cartoonist and that`s how I like it. Being with a group 24 hours a day for 12 days is very tiring.

Besides that we all went out to get our stories. I met with the Mallorca punk band MOSTROS at their practice space and had a real good time. Later I wrote a little piece about them and the Palma Punk scene in the paper.

Four of us from the paper went to the local office of the Spanish anarchist union CNT. It`s located very closely to the Mallorcan Parliament, in a old appartement building. We interviewed their “Secretary of Staff” and spend a very nice time with the comrades.

Another highlight of the trip was meeting the local comic artist MAX and four of his collegues: TOMEU SEGUÌ, GABI BELTRÀN, ALEX FITO and CANIZALES. Minou and I put together a two page spread of their comics and drawings and  I interviewed MAX for JUNGLE WORLD and we spent a very nice time in the cafè of the museum that was currently hosting a exhibition by GILBERT SHELTON.

This is a video that I pieced together of MOSTROS at their practice space:




Leave a Reply

