SAM AND THE SAXTONES, Bongo Bongo Bongo, 1961

I never knew that Jack Sels was also the genius behind this great two-sider before I found his discography. Apparently he had recorded some Boogie records for the Belgian Ronnex label in the mid-50´s, so he had some experience in the Rock´n´Roll field before recording these Twists. Really cool for a sophisticated Jazz musician to be playing wacky music for Teenagers.

Bongo Bongo Bongo also  known as Civilization was originally recorded in 1947 by the Andrews Sisters and later that year by Louis Prima.

Each morning, a missionary advertises neon sign
He tells the native population that civilization is fine
And three educated savages holler from a bamboo tree
That civilization is a thing for me to see

So bongo, bongo, bongo, I don’t wanna leave the Congo, oh no no no no no
Bingo, bangle, bungle, I’m so happy in the jungle, I refuse to go
Don’t want no bright lights, false teeth, doorbells, landlords, I make it clear
That no matter how they coax him, I’ll stay right here

They hurry like savages to get aboard an iron train
And though it’s smokey and it’s crowded, they’re too civilized to complain
When they’ve got two weeks vacation, they hurry to vacation ground
They fish and they swim, but that’s what I do all year round

So bongo, bongo, bongo, I don’t wanna leave the Congo, oh no no no no no
Bingo, bangle, bungle, I’m so happy in the jungle, I refuse to go
Don’t want no jailhouse, shotgun, fish-hooks, golf clubs, I got my spears
So, no matter how they coax him, I’ll stay right here

They have things like the atom bomb, so I think I’ll stay where I “ahm”
Civilization, I’ll stay right here!

Kaput is a weird semi- instrumental rocker. Semi, because there are a bunch of  words thrown in that do not really make sense. Some even in German:

“Abgeschossen. Kaput!”

“Tick tack, what´s the matter? Ist diese Schallplatte kaput?”

“Nein, finished!”

“Ach, Mensch!”

As a  insignificant side note,  in German the word Kaput is actually spelt  Kaputt. But Angst,  Bratwurst, Gesundheit, Kitsch, Kindergarten, Rucksack, Schadenfreude, Wanderlust and  Zeitgeist are spelt exactly the same…

Both songs were featured on volumes of the Las Vegas Grind compilation that Crypt Records released in the 90´s.

SAM AND THE SAXTONES, Bongo Bongo Bongo, 1961

SAM AND THE SAXTONES, Kaput, 1961

6 Comments on “SAM AND THE SAXTONES, Bongo Bongo Bongo, 1961”

  1. Ralf says:

    Klasse Teil – “Kaput” – schöne Rarität – Danke!

  2. michaelvee says:

    Hallo Andy,
    beide Teile sind – auch wenn sie zeitlich nicht in meinen Samelbereich fallen- einfach Spitzenklasse und beweisen wieder mal: ein gutes Stück ist und bleibt ein gutes Stück (hab sie mir gleich 4 mal hintereinander angehört…). Übrigens teile ich Deine Psychoanalyse re: Plattenfieber 100%.. gebau so geht’s mir auch, wie letztes mal in Utrecht in einem voll mit 45ern vollgepropftem Keller (wär garantiert auch Dein Bier) , als ich nach 1 Std. Wühlen den verhängnisvollen Fehler machte, meine Ausbeute einem Mitkranken zu zeigen, der dann, nach ausführlicher Begutachtung, fest darauf beharrte, daß eine der von mir geloteten Scheiben doch zu SEINEM Stapel gehörten….

    Grüße!

  3. mischalke04 says:

    Tatsächlich bin ich gar nicht so gierig. Und zusammen mit Freunden macht das Platttenstöbern auch mehr Spass und fühlt sich nicht ganz so krankhaft und süchtig an. Und geteilte Freude ist doch doppelte Freude. Und meinen Freunden gönne ich wirklich jede noch so heisse Scheibe. Und meine liebsten Platten sind ja sowieso nicht so was wie Sam and the Saxtones sondern irgendwelche singenden Feuerwehrmänner und die reisst mir nie jemand aus den Händen. Und ich denke doch immer: ich brauche eigentlich nicht noch mehr Platten
    Andrerseits… dieser Keller in Utrecht… Meinst du, du würdest den nochmal finden…?

  4. michaelvee says:

    hier die Anschrift:
    Da Capo Records,
    Oudegracht 10
    3511 Utrecht
    tel 030 – 2316875
    dacapo@wannadoo.nl
    http://www.dacaporecords.nl

    das EG mit “normalem” CD- u. Vinyl Angebot . Garage-RnR, Punk usw ist immer geöffnet, der singles-Keller dagegen nur 2 mal die Woche, weiß leider nicht mehr wann genau, müßtest Du anrufen…bei den singles ist so ziemlich alles dabei, würd mich wundern , wenn Du da nicht fündig würdest…

    saluti!

  5. mischalke04 says:

    Vielen Dank, ich weiss zwar nicht, wann ich nach Utrecht komme, aber so ein Tip ist immer irgendwann hilfreich.
    Und wenn du mal nach Berlin kommst zeig ich dir gern “meine” Läden…

    Alles Gute
    Andreas

  6. Andrew Bolton says:

    So… I found this song through the game Fallout 3 – it’s one of maybe 20 or so songs that are featured through the in-game radio system, and I’ve really come to love it. I wanted to thank you for putting the lyrics up, I know I sound almost fraudulent being that I’m definitely inexperienced with the world from which this song came and I approached this comment box as the result of playing a game, but – just wanted to thank you much for clearing up the lyrics for me! It has a greatly sarcastic feel within the context of post-apocalyptic washington D.C. exploration; I can remember at which point I suddenly realized what the song was all about after I had heard it without paying proper attention maybe twenty times. A wonderful tune. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

