HERMÍNIA SILVA, A Hermínia canta Yé Yé, 1970

Of course while in Lisbon, I also took some time to go look for records. I didn´t find any of the stuff  that is featured on the three volumes of  the Portuguese Nuggets compilation LP series that Marcos had at his appartement. No cool Portuguese 60´s beat, surf or garage rock. What I found was fado, a very Portuguese type of music that mostly sounds like a lot of  whining and moaning. But that´s just on the surface, fado songs can be about anything. I  like a little fun in my fado, so I picked the records with the funniest sleeves.

Hermínia Silva was one of the greatest stars of fado. Here she is singing in a Portuguese film from 1938.  Actually the bars I´ve been to last week in Lisbon, were just like the one in this film: everybody was chain-smoking, including me…

She was already 63 years old, when she recorded these Yé Yé songs. Chunga Chunga is a cover version of Sugar Sugar by the Archies. Hermínia is making fun of the young hippy generation while still being sympathetic to them. I hope I´ll be as cool and funny as she was when I´m her age. Hermínia died in 1993.

HERMÍNIA SILVA, Chunga Chunga, 1970

HERMÍNIA SILVA, Só Unisexy, 1970

HERMÍNIA SILVA, Vou ser Hippy, 1970

HERMÍNIA SILVA, A Herminia canta Yé Yé, 1970

5 Comments on “HERMÍNIA SILVA, A Hermínia canta Yé Yé, 1970”

  1. Marcelo says:

    Thanks for the great posts!

  2. joao says:

    finally!!!
    i’ve been looking for these files 4 ever!

    thank you so much!!!

  3. joao says:

    e depois li a parte do post em que diz que o fado soa a whining and moaning. estupidez…

  4. Luis says:

    Hello, very interesting site. I’d really like to obtain the files to the songs posted for this artist but the links are missing. Any chance you can fix this?

  5. Diogo says:

    Man, please share this files with mee. I was looking for them for years!!!!! Please send them to my mail : siteoficialmusicaportuguesa@gmail.com . Please I really need them. Thank you! :)


Leave a Reply

