RUTH FISCHER, Du bist noch viel zu jung für mich, 1958

ruth-fischer-whiteruth-fischer-black7-pal-1796As you might have noticed, I´ve been absent from this blog for a while. No specific reason, I just lost the weekly rhthm to post stuff and then had other things on my mind over the summer. But of course I kept buying records! I´ve got a whole box  of stuff that I will post in the coming weeks. Before I do that,  I´ll post a couple of records that were ready to post before I went on hiatus, this one is from May. Another reason I stopped posting was that I thought that the records on my wait list weren´t exciting enough.  Actually they´re not better or worse than anything I ever posted before. This one fits the bill: It´s not available in digital format elsewhere, the artist hasn´t been active for decades, and 50 years after it was recorded, I feel it´s fair to present it.

This one-sided flexible disc was made for the German Indanthren trademark association. Indanthren, or Indanthrone, is both a type of organic dye and a brand name.  The featured vocalist Ruth Fischer recorded about twenty sides for Electrola in the late 50s and early 60s. Accordingly the Electrola-Tanzorchester is also backing her on this swinging promotional song. While the arrangement is top-notch, the lyrics rather clumsily link teenage desire to the product:

You are still too young for me. Your mustache looks wimpy, so stop bragging (…)  I´ll be seventeen next year and I know what I want (…)  What do you have to offer, besides big talk and blue jeans? (…)  I want a manly, smart and true guy. A man as true and and “light fast” as Indanthren…

RUTH FISCHER, Du bist noch viel zu jung für mich

 

 

indanthren-2


2 Comments on “RUTH FISCHER, Du bist noch viel zu jung für mich, 1958”

  1. Hey Andreas,
    schön, dass du wieder schreibst! Schon vermisst!
    Die Dame vom Lied … nun ist sie nicht mehr 17, sondern über 70. Aber alt heißt ja auch: authentisch! Genau wie Indanthren!
    Dass es auch Knaben gibt, die es einsehen, dass sie zu jung sind und dies in einer Form einsehen, die “richtig” authentischer Schlager ist, beweist dieser Goldknabe:

    “Dein Ideal, deine Erwartung sinnnn Mittel nur zum Zweck … Ich bin zu jung!”
    Sehr gut!
    Dein Asphalt Tiger

  2. mischalke04 says:

    Hey Tiger,

    du schreibst ja superbeständig! Wirst bald zum Stadtschreiber. Von unten.

    Schöner Song von Dagobert! Und noch dazu auf Buback. Ist ´n weiter Weg von Angeschissen bis zum Schnulzensänger Dagobert.

    Liebe Grüße
    Andi


Leave a Reply

