JENNIFER LEE, Country Songs

A mystery country & western 45 from Berlin. No idea what year it was released and I couldn´t find any information or image of Jennifer Lee. What I do know, is that both songs were written by Ruth Händel. Ruth Händel had a local hit record (written in part by Drafi Deutscher), the novely song Meine letzte Zigarette . My last cigarette, cough, cough…

According to the German web forum of Memory Radio, Ruth Händel, born Heidemarie Gerbsch, performed together with German C&W stars Western Union and co-founded the German band Country Child, prior to her solo career  in the 70s. Ruth Händel died in 2003.

Jennifer Lee recorded at least one more 45 on her own G.M. label, Samstag Nacht/ The Simple Words Of Love. The lyrics to Country Songs pretty much pin her down as a fan and an amateur singer. In the best way:

“I only like bars that play country and western music/ When AFN´s Country Time is on the air, / I invite all country fans to my place/ I´m not singing like Big Hank Snow or Dave Dudley/ Country songs – just for fun/ Country songs – bye bye so long/ I´ll go see live music and will never pass on a record store/ And one day I´ll move to Nashville,/ but meanwhile I´ll make country western in Berlin”

JENNIFER LEE, Country Songs

Trucker fahr is about truckers going to Africa to save children…

JENNIFER LEE, Goodbye Trucker fahr

An unrelated artifact from my personal collection: matchbook for NASHVILLE SALOON, a country and western bar at Kadettenweg 63 in Berlin-Lichterfelde. Although not related, this place fits roughly in the same time frame with Jennifer Lee. Like Jennifer Lee, there´s no trace of the Berlin Nashville Saloon today..

 

Leave a Reply

